Big Black Mammy? Oh, no she didn’t!

I tuned in to a local LGBT blog radio show this past Tuesday night, as I often do. The topic of the night was HIV and AIDS awareness in the LGBT community. I was excited about the topic and lately the show had gotten so much better with its programming.

Alas…tragedy struck in the form of the N word. Yes. The N word. I’m so sick of talking about it. For the last thirty years people have been talking about it and I’m just over it. People use it. We shouldn’t. If a racist fraternity is punished for being caught saying it, why should rappers and regular black folks continue to say it? Yes, you can argue for the right to use it. Whatever, I don’t care. All I wanted to do was move on to the true topic at hand.

But, some of the hosts and listeners were enjoying the N word so much that it became a thing. Then someone used the word “Mammy”. Now, say what? So, I posted on the show’s interactive Facebook page, “Mammy? Really?” to which someone replied something to the affect of “Your Mammy’. Then some other asshole wrote, “Your Big Black Mammy”.

Really, Bitches? That’s just too much. Way too much. My mother is not for you to defile…but instead of buying into that ignorant bulllshit, I simply deleted my original post and turned off the show.  Whatever. Revel in your own ignorance but I don’t, and my mother especially does not, deserve to be the brunt of your mammy jokes.

To some my reaction may seem extreme but I’m from Georgia. I’ve been called nigger to my face by a co-worker. One of the managers I worked for said I had a ‘pickaninny afro’. I quit the job…but my “Big Black Mammy” called them up and told the racist piece of shit that I would be returning to work the next day and that she didn’t raise no damn pickaninnies.

Why in a supposed safe space should I be subject to malicious taunts veiled behind a supposed joke? Why should I be made to feel like shit because some people enjoy being niggas or relish using the word or feel entitled to call my mother a mammy? The same people who tell me that I should lighten up would be mad enough to shoot fire if I called them ignorant, swamp trash or banana boat babies. Some of them would even want to beat me up if I said stupid dyke or nasty faggot…but it’s ok to throw around the word mammy?

Ignorance must be bliss…for some. I wouldn’t know. I enjoy being intellectual far too much to play with fools.

Leave a Reply

