Rainbows and Butterflies and Moonbeams.

http://www.nytimes.com/2015/06/27/us/supreme-court-same-sex-marriage.html?_r=0

As you may already know, a pastor promised to set himself on fire if gay marriage is legalized. Did anyone else stock up on marshmallows? Ha! Go F*ck Yourself…on Fire.

So today has been an awesome day indeed. I started a sacral chakra piece. It was a therapeutic experience. Now that I’ve done this chakra cycle a  few times, I feel that as I focus on each one, I can identify what needs to be done more quickly than before. Sometimes I don’t even realize that I’m dealing with chakra issues until in the midst of resolving them.

I’d started a canvas piece that felt forced and difficult to manifest so, I painted over it with a bright orange color that I mixed myself. Orange is the color of the sacral chakra. While that was drying I made a big, country breakfast of pan-fried potatoes with onion, a tomato omelette, turkey sausage links and super strong coffee. I piddled around a bit and listened to a sacral chakra meditation before heading outside to my paint arena to get started.

I wasn’t sure where to start since I wanted to use mostly oranges of varied shades and I’d painted the canvas a pretty strong orange.

11667322_10206746849931114_2917768202289125939_n

I decided to begin with light colors to build a pattern. Squiggly creatures and circles began to take shape on the canvas. After a short while, this is what I came up with:

11659395_10206748373089192_2339471177113782381_n

I plan to go back and add shadow. Who knows? It may take a while. Sometimes I step away and do something else. My reptilian lady has dried so I want to add detail to her look. Then again…I may start a brand new painting.

Tomorrow is my third Artwalk and I’m super psyched!  A little nervous…mostly because of the week I’ve had, but not all crazy. Manageable jitters. But with  the convergence of my two favorite things all wound up together: Painting and Music, let the good times roll!

I’ve been preparing for it by getting my stuff kinda organized and painting a lot. This time I may even take the trolley and have the actual experience of being an art tourist for a while. There’s free beer at one of the trolley stops. That could be cute!

Heather and I are going to an Ordinary Boys show tomorrow night in Miami after my show.  New Pond! That means I may actually wear something cute and slap on some makeup. Some of the picture of me at ArtWalk are a little less flattering than I’d like.

I plan to paint, write and watch Iron Monkey for the rest of the night.  I may even toast to The Supreme Court in honor of their awesomeness. I am ready for the weekend!

6 thoughts on “Rainbows and Butterflies and Moonbeams.

  1. learningtocry says:

    I am an artist, writer, and music lover as well. Fun to learn these things about you. Oh and loved the marshmallow bit! Great! Another top top passion…Dancing, oh and moving my body in many different ways…love …acroyoga, swimming, running, hiking, cycling, working out, skating! That’s not all, but I’ll stop there.
    Glad to come across your site via t.dot’s “peeps” pics.
    Suzanne
    learningtocry.wordpress.com

  2. learningtocry says:

    I have my photos with random posts. Maybe I have a photo category…need to get better organized! I’m sure they’re not all properly labeled. But almost all photos on my blog I have taken save when I was a rock star for a weekend! Hey. you can’t expect me to be a rockstar and a photographer at the same time! Ha ha!

Leave a Reply

