Lions, Tigers and Bears…Oh, My!

If you think today’s students are anything like the kids you see on Leave It To Beaver, Think Again. In fact, I don’t even think that’s an accurate depiction of kids back in the day. That image of perfect, respectful children who show remorse when they’ve done wrong is a fallacy. We’ve all been kids. What do you remember?

As a modern day educator, I’ve seen everything BUT those kids. I’ve worked in private schools where kids walk the halls with Grande sized Starbucks cups and texting on their iPhone whatever. I’ve also seen kids who come to school hungry everyday and without their homework. Sometimes, it just BE like that. A student taught me that…right after he jumped up and yelled, “Ms. J! I got dem OZs for three hunned”. Urban education is lacking in SO many areas.

In spite of all the ups and downs, I love what I do. I love seeing the spark of awareness pop into a student’s eyes after he or she gets it. I love influencing young minds. I love being a teacher.

Today, I want to express GRATITUDE for all of my little knuckleheads (lol). Even though I nearly lost my voice today and I’m still not sure if they take me seriously, I love being here for them. I know by the year’s end, we will all be a little bit smarter…and as GI Joe says,

“Knowing is Half The Battle”.

3 thoughts on “Lions, Tigers and Bears…Oh, My!

  1. Kudos to you for all you do! I know the kids probably never thank you, so I wanted to!
    I love teaching too! Used to work with the little little ones. Now middle school through elderly. : )
    Love to ya Sister!

    Suzanne

  2. Well sporadically teaching them Qigong.
    : )
    All the kids I have worked with, actually elementary through high school have really enjoyed it.
    Sending some Qi your way for tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

